fucking hostile

So the other day I was cleaning my bathroom. My house has quite a few residents, so this was a mighty task. I decided I needed to listen to something loud and stupid, so I made myself a mix of old punk songs about drinking, early Danzig, and…Pantera.

I see Pantera as the musical equivalent of a basket of onion rings. You know it’s terrible, and it’s nothing you want to indulge in regularly, but once in a while, it’s just what the doctor ordered. I scrubbed down the toilet and the shower to the tune of “Cowboys From Hell,” “Walk,” and “Fucking Hostile,” and it was just what I needed to keep going as the Lysol fumes got me all dizzy and the mystery stains on the tile resisted the strongest scrubbing. And if you’re gonna hate, I will just point out that my bathroom is very clean right now, and I have those idiot Texans to thank.

Listening to that band made me think of a question I am often asked: How can I relate to such dudely music? Don’t I get alienated by these tunes that don’t speak to me? To which I would respond: you are not accounting for the ways fans can interpret music and use it for purposes the creators may not have intended. It is indeed awesome to have music that speaks directly to me and reflects my politics and experiences – that’s why I still love Crass and their Penis Envy album, which I listened to today for the first time in years and enjoy just as much as I did when I was 17. But I can also use songs that weren’t written with people like me in mind and apply them to my life anyway. FOR EXAMPLE: this Pantera song.

It’s about an annoying backstabby “friend,” which I guess is a fairly universal experience (unfortunately). But lately, I’ve found the chorus popping into my head when some asshole street-harasses me. I know that the dudes in Pantera probably don’t give a fuck about street harassment, and more than likely do it themselves. (Well, not Dimebag cuz he’s dead, but you know.) But “are you talkin’ to me? ARE YOU TALKIN’ TO ME?!” is exactly what I want to say to every “hey baby”-spewing douchenozzle. Walk on home, boy.

And that’s why it gives me pause whenever someone laments the lyrical content of some band popular with The Kids or The Ladies. Like, I hate most emo bands and think that their lyrics are annoying and misogynist, and I was thoroughly grossed out at the prospect of teen girl fans sympathizing with some whiny shithead over THAT BITCH who dumped him. But then I read an interview with a teenage girl who listened to those bands, and she said that instead of wanting to comfort the singer, she felt that she was him – when she listened to those songs, she mentally switched the genders and applied it to her life and relationships. And I did this as a teenager, too, when I was frustrated with my friend’s clingy boyfriend and I listened to Black Flag’s “Jealous Again,” wishing she would say those kind of harsh words to him. I’m not saying that’s great, since those songs still represent unhealthy attitudes towards relationships. But it just goes to show that people don’t necessarily experience music in tidy, predictable ways.

So, back on the topic of unhealthy food: there is an all-night punk rock diner joint here, and I think I am going to take a shower and tipsily bike down that way, because I want me some damn hash browns like nobody’s business. Then again, I may just sit here and eat yogurt and watch British comedy. How will this thrilling evening unfold? I guess we’ll see.

~ by Smellen on November 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “fucking hostile”

  1. Is it true you’re visiting the Cold North next month?

Leave a Reply

 
