eeeeeeeeeeee!

Watching the new Machete trailer made me realize: I am a simple creature. I have watched it a total of five times today, each time literally squeaking with delight. I mean, come on. A priest, with guns, played by Cheech Marin! Robert De Niro as an asshole senator! Steven Seagal playing a caricature of himself! Michelle Rodriguez in a bikini top…with…guns…and…an…eyepatch…I’m sorry, what was I saying? I feel kinda funny, like when I used to climb the rope in gym class. Anyway, I will be watching the shit out of this and probably cheering every cheezmo catchphrase emitted from Danny Trejo’s candle-wax lump of a head. If only Machete was real and actually capable of threatening Arizona lawmakers with his MOTORCYCLE-MOUNTED GATLING GUN! SQUEEEEK!

Er, anyway. Speaking of movie violence, I am still on the lookout for good feminist scholarship on horror movies – y’know, that actually treats them like cultural objects worthy of consideration and doesn’t rely on moral-panicky blanket statements along the lines of “violence is not entertaining, even if it is achieved with colored corn syrup and ingenious prosthetics! Anyone who thinks otherwise is a sicko!” I should also point out I am not interested in “feminist” defenses of movies along the lines of “well, I’m a lady and I like it, therefore it’s not misogynist” (I like plenty of shit that I have problems with on an intellectual level – I don’t apologize for it but I’m not going to waste energy defending it either). Men, Women, and Chain Saws has been recommended enough to gain a place on the to-read list, and The Dread of Difference looks interesting as well, but I wouldn’t mind some further reading, especially if it’s more recent (although, as most of my horror-watching pals would agree, the classics are best).

Then again, I told myself I have to finish The Golden Bough, >Cyclonopedia (yes, Clayton, still working on it…I know I’m a slouch), and Paradise Lost before I tackle anything else, so maybe a reading list can wait. Oh, why don’t I have multiple heads, all capable of reading several books at once? Sigh.

~ by Smellen on May 6, 2010.

One Response to “eeeeeeeeeeee!”

  1. Ain’t no thang! Better to take it slowly than read it in a month (February, in Maine) and be plunged into depressive paranoia! That was ’bout the time some good friends began commenting on my reading list as “paranoid” and “I don’t know how you do it…”

    Not to mention I’ve had “Against The Day” for months now and am STILLLLL not finished with it.

Leave a Reply

 
