tittering

So there’s this thing happening in town on Saturday – female-bodied folks and allies are going to stroll from Longfellow Square to Tommy’s Park (basically, across downtown), while not wearing shirts. This is to protest against the double standard which says that boobies must be covered while dude-chests can be exposed without fear of any consequence. Some of my friends are going. Personally, I’m not sure how I feel about it.

I mean, I don’t object to it, really. Tits are wonderful things, of course, and I’m not going to get all het up over people exposing theirs. And I do think it’s kind of bullshit that boobs are seen as these horrifyingly sexual things that are going to become self-aware and murder children if exposed in public, or whatever the bullshit moral panic argument is about that. But I just can’t bring myself to care that much about my inability to let my twins bounce free. If we’re going to talk about promoting gender equity and positive body image, then fuck yeah to that, but this seems like an awfully narrow part of that to address. Maybe it’ll get people thinking about the larger context of these things? I don’t know. All I know is that one fellow I work with was complaining a whole lot that the march wasn’t going past his apartment. And I discovered just how far back my eyes will roll. It hurts a little.

It reminded me a little of a similar situation that happened at my college. Some ladies were strolling around campus topless and were asked to cover up by the college president. I don’t remember his exact wording, but it was something pretty dickish. So, those ladies got pissed (understandably) and formed some kind of Gender Equity Task Force to discuss this and other issues relating to gender on campus. I am always in favor of discussing gender equity, but it blew my fucking mind that THAT ISSUE was the catalyst. So you’re OK with, say, the sexual assault rate here, but as soon as you have to cover your nips, it’s on? I mean, I don’t fucking care that I have to wear a bra if I go out. I pretty much have to wear a bra anyway because my boobs are fairly large (compared to my frame, anyway) and when they’ve been bouncing around all unrestrained, it hurts. I do care that some dudes still think it’s OK to use alcohol to coerce girls into sex, or hover around with a camera when a cute drunk lesbian couple starts making out.

Am I being mean-spirited and minimizing? Oh, probably. But again: is this really the most pressing issue when it comes to gender, body image, and the public policing of “inappropriate” bodies?

(PS – the new Ludicra fucking owns.)

~ by Smellen on April 1, 2010.

One Response to “tittering”

  1. And, as a friend of mine put it thanks to the facebook…. if “you want it to be normal and not a big deal to walk around in public with no shirt on. Fine. Perhaps the way to achieve this state of normalcy and equality is not to have a PARADE.”

Leave a Reply

 
