tis the season

I used to work with a fellow who was one of those super-militant atheists, and man, would Christmas ever work him into a frothing rage. Me, I’m not religious, but as long as I don’t have to hear that fucking Paul McCartney “Wonderful Christmastime” song, I’m fine.

This song, on the other hand:

I like Lovecraft a lot, despite his questionable politics (which seem, like the politics of many Internet libertarians, to have sprung from the fertile ground of “I never leave the house”). The idea of the human race as a blip on the radar of a cruel, uncaring universe ruled by a blind idiot god was something I used to enjoy ruminating about while stoned, scaring the pants off myself in the process. (One time I actually tried to convince my friend that the moon was the unblinking eye of an Elder God. Oh, college and your industrial-strength wacky tobaccy.) I no longer smoke pot, really, but I do read Lovecraft still because of my ever-growing misanthropic streak. DAMN KIDS! GET OFF MY LAWN!

~ by Smellen on December 21, 2009.

4 Responses to “tis the season”

  1. That moon image is one of my favorites, and though never really stoned off my ass (though arguably going increasingly crazy otherwise), I will still stand there and look at it with discomfort.
    Re: HPoLitics (did he just write that?!), it did seem to be a “get out of house/town” disease, because as soon as HPL began traveling a bit more his politics changed.
    The other person I’ve ever encountered who’s made a case for compassionate fascism.

    • That was supposed to be “The ONLY person I’ve ever encountered…”, which now makes me wonder.

    • I actually have seen a couple other people making the case for “compassionate fascism.” I think basically they used to be democratic idealists but then that got crushed by the weight of watching people fuck themselves and each other over repeatedly.

      Which…eh. Like I said, my misanthropic streak is growing by leaps and bounds, but I do not necessarily trust any one person over any other, especially when a huge power imbalance is involved. That is, it’s all well and good to say that we could leave world governance in the hands of a few refined super-genuises (genii?), but the corrupting influence of absolute power is such that before you know it they’d probably just be flipping us all off and doing lines of coke off each other’s boners. Call me old-fashioned, but I think world history backs me up here.

  2. Just after posting “the other person…” I thought of Ezra Pound, but he was compassionate by way of virulent hatred; just plain fascist.
    HPL’s conclusions seem to parallel what you say, an idealism and aestheticism filtered through all his distrust of everything.
    Your description of world governance seems quite accurate, actually, if the more lurid accounts of the Bush circle are to be believed. That’s what HPL leaves out, of course; you don’t find philosopher-artist-kings who practice what they preach. Coke and underage sex is too appealing, apparently.

Leave a Reply

 
